Our Governing Body

Meet our governing body

Our governing body meet twice each term to discuss school business and regularly visit the school to work alongside staff and children.

All governors can be contacted via the school.

About our governing body

What are School Governors for?

School governors are people who want to make a positive contribution to children?s education.

Governors are one of the largest volunteer forces in the country and have an important part to play in raising school standards. The role of the governing body is absolutely key to the effectiveness of a school. Time and time again Ofsted (the national inspection body for schools) has noted that the most effective schools demonstrate effective leadership and management – including by the governing body.

What do Governors Do?

School governors provide strategic leadership and accountability in schools. Governors appoint the head teacher and deputy head teacher.  It is governors who hold the main responsibility for finance in schools, and it is governors who work with the head teacher to make the tough decisions about balancing resources.

The Governors at Curdworth have a wealth of experience behind them. We do also have several newer members of the team to ensure we have a balance of experience and new blood. We come from varied professional backgrounds so have a good mixture of expertise and skills.

Each individual governor is a member of the governing body, which is established in law as a corporate body. Individual governors may not act independently of the rest of the governing body. Decisions are the joint responsibility of the governing body.

 The role of the governing body is a strategic one, its key functions are to:

  • set the aims and objectives for the school
  • set the policies for achieving those aims and objectives
  • set the targets for achieving those aims and objectives
  • monitor and evaluate the progress the school is making towards achievement of its aims and objectives
  • be a source of challenge and support to the head teacher (a critical friend)

The head teacher is responsible for the internal organisation, management and control of the school and the implementation of the strategic framework established by the governing body.

Types of governors explained:

  • Co-opted Governors: appointed by the governing body to represent the community. A co-opted governor does not need to have any previous experience or knowledge of education, nor do they need to have children.
  • Parent Governors: elected onto the governing body by other parents from the school, and are usually parents of children in attendance at the school.
  • Staff Governors: elected onto the governing body by staff at the school.

Everyone appointed to the Governing body is only appointed on the basis that they have in the opinion of the person making the
appointment ?the skills required to contribute to the effective governance and success of the school.


We have two sub-committees that meet termly: Quality and Standards and Resource and Finance.

The Quality and Standards Committee is responsible for everything to do with your child?s learning from reviewing performance data; from monitoring the use of Pupil Premium and SEN expenditure to pupil attendance and behaviour; from contributing to and developing of the School Development Plan to reviewing the impact of school policies. It is also responsible for the monitoring of safeguarding.

The Resource and Finance Committee is responsible for the school budget, staffing, health and safety, Head Teacher performance management, capital planning and Pupil Premium and SEND funding.

Responsibilities of a Link Governor?

Some governors will fulfil a link governor role, with the
aim of making effective links with key school leaders and their staff to ensure that governors can successfully challenge and support the school.

To effectively fulfil their role, link governors must:

  • Communicate with their link school leader on at least a termly basis.
  • Visit the school to meet with the link leader and/or carry out a learning walk at least twice a year.
  • Ensure the focus of the visit is closely aligned to the school development plan and curriculum priorities.
  • Maintain effective lines of communication between the school link leader and the governing body by completing a report, to be shared with all governors by email and at the relevant committee and/or full governing body meeting.
  • Keep themselves informed and up to date by attending relevant training provided by the LA and, where possible, relevant staff training. In addition, reading relevant material and information, in particular publications and newsletters from the DfE, Ofsted and the National Governors Association.